From Mozart to Bardanashvili

Description Description Beschreibung

Of memory


It is a concerto by Vivaldi, transcribed by Bach when he was still a teenager, in the smoky light of the night candles that will eventually cost him his sight. It is, of this work already thus split up, the arrangement by Julia Zilberquit – a contemporary and profoundly concrete view of a demanding interpreter – who seeks to adapt the musical text to the possibilities of the modern piano. It is also a dream of Schubert’s – born in the Baltic landscapes, from the enlightened imagination of Vidmantas Bartulis. These are the melancholy ruins, contemplated by Sollima – deep thought, turned towards the past. And then, it is a creation by Michael Nyman, and it is another, In Memory of Giya, by Josef Bardanashvili, which revives the memory of the great Giya Kancheli and recalls, outside the tomb, his glorious shadow. And finally Mozart, inevitable.


Tonight’s concert poses, in an acute way, the question of tradition and memory. How does a work pass from one composer to another, from one era to another? Through what successive transmutations do sometimes these silent pages reach us? How do the actors of our music, in the present, look at the patrimonial treasure of the classical repertoire? Between tributes, winks, pastiches and reverences, this evening’s program will allow the meandering of a musical memory rich in centuries of creation to unfold, according to its sinuous – and dreamy – course. Memories, memories…


Massimo Mercelli, flûte, Svetlana Makarova, violin, Pavel Vernikov, violin, Julia Zilberquit, piano, Kim Min, direction, South Korean Chamber Orchestra
W.-A. Mozart, A. Vivaldi, V. Bartulis, G. Sollima. M. Nyman and J. Bardanashvili creations.

Artistes Artists Künstler

Lieu du concert Concert location Konzertort

Théâtre de Valère
rue du Vieux Collège 22
1950 Sion

Loading Map....