Warning: Undefined array key 0 in /home/clients/7de1993e6f00a07c472d27d33eef545f/web/wp-content/themes/festival/header.php on line 72

Warning: Attempt to read property "slug" on null in /home/clients/7de1993e6f00a07c472d27d33eef545f/web/wp-content/themes/festival/header.php on line 72

Janine Jansen & Friends

Description Description Beschreibung

Three moments of intimacy. This is what Janine Jansen, an outstanding violinist, has concocted for the Sion Festival. Intimacy for two: and it will be Ludwig van Beethoven’s sonata for violin and piano in C minor. In three: and we will be dazzled by Antonin Dvořak’s trio in E minor, Dumky. And in four: and we will taste the first piano quartet in G minor by Johannes Brahms. Beethoven’s sonata, contemporary to the composition of the second symphony and the third piano concerto, was composed between 1801 and 1802. In four movements, it follows the rules of the genre, while displaying great inventiveness and admirable emotional intensity. Beethoven was both rigorous and original – already close to what Hofmann later described as “a sublime mixture of genius and composure”. The Dumky Trio, on the other hand, is a perfect example of chamber music that does not respect the traditional four-movement division or motivational rigour. Dvořak composed the six movements that make up the work between 1890 and 1891. Dumky, plural of dumka, itself a diminutive of Duma, is a word originating in Ukrainian and designating the epic tales, interspersed with laments, of popular tradition. Each of six dumky thus sees episodes of lament and joy following one another, in a free and dreamy narration, inspired by the fairy tales of oral poetry. Brahms’s quartet, finally, was composed and premiered in 1861, with Clara Schumann at the piano. Intense and lyrical, the work owes its success to the unbridled Rondo alla Zingarese, which closes the piece. An ideal way to end an intimate evening, under the sign of the new impetus and the wind that blows… Thank you Janine.

Janine Jansen, violin, Timothy Ridout, viola, Torleif Thédeen, cello, Denis Kozhukhin, piano.
Chamber music works by L. van Beethoven, J. Brahms and A. Dvořak.

Programme Program Programm

Sonate pour violon et piano n. 7 en do mineur  -  Op. 30 n°2  /  L. van Beethoven

Trio avec piano n°4 en mi mineur, dit "Dumky"  -  Op. 90, B166  /  A. Dvořák

Quatuor avec piano en sol mineur  -  Op. 25  /  J. Brahms

Artistes Artists Künstler

Lieu du concert Concert location Konzertort

Promenade des Pêcheurs 10
1950 Sion

Loading Map....