Warning: Undefined array key 0 in /home/clients/7de1993e6f00a07c472d27d33eef545f/web/wp-content/themes/festival/header.php on line 72

Warning: Attempt to read property "slug" on null in /home/clients/7de1993e6f00a07c472d27d33eef545f/web/wp-content/themes/festival/header.php on line 72

S. Makarova, P. Vernikov, M. Mercelli, J. Zilberquit & F. Korobov

Description Description Beschreibung

After the enforced silence imposed by the year 2020, it is time for music, and time for joy. The Georgian Chamber Orchestra Ingolstadt, conducted for the occasion by the Russian conductor Felix Korobov, will open this year’s festivities in Sion. On the menu is a varied programme that questions the idea of tradition, at the heart of the “classical” repertoire.

How does a work pass from one composer to another, from one era to another? Through what successive transmutations do these silent pages sometimes reach us? How do today’s performers view the heritage treasure that is their repertoire? Between tributes, winks, pastiches and reverence, this evening will allow the meandering of a musical memory rich in centuries of creations to unfold, along a sinuous – and dreamy – path.

Thus, a concerto by Vivaldi, transcribed by Bach when he was still a teenager, will be arranged by Julia Zilberquit – whose contemporary sensibility, deeply concrete, seeks to adapt the musical text to the possibilities of the modern piano.

We will also hear a dream by Schubert – born in the Baltic landscape of Vidmantas Bartulis. And the melancholy ruins contemplated by Sollima. And then, too, a creation by Michael Nyman, and another, In Memory of Giya, by Josef Bardanashvili, which revives the memory of the great Giya Kancheli and recalls, out of the grave, his glorious shadow. And then, inevitably, Schubert.

A fine festival to all.

Programme Program Programm

Concerto en ré mineur, RV 565  /  A.Vivaldi (arr. J. Zilberquit)

Concerto n°2 "Out of the ruins" pour flûte et cordes (World premiere)  /  M. Nyman

"Contrafactus" pour flûte et cordes  /  G. Sollima

Fantasia, Mama! I dream Schubert!  /  V. Bartulis (arr. Pushkarev-Bardanashvili)

"In Memory of Giya" pour violons, piano et orchestre (World premiere)  /  J. Bardanashvili

Cinq menuets et six trios, D89  /  F. Schubert

Artistes Artists Künstler

Lieu du concert Concert location Konzertort

Promenade des Pêcheurs 10
1950 Sion

Loading Map....

Partenaires Partners Partner